NZ‘s first-ever national workplace mental health awards launched

In News3 MinutesBy NZ Trucking magazineJune 11, 2021

New Zealand‘s first-ever national workplace mental health awards programme has been launched. 

Headfit, in association with the Mental Health Foundation of New Zealand, has established the HeadFit Awards to acknowledge individuals, teams and workplaces who are leading in the area of workplace mental health. 

The awards have three primary goals, including raising awareness of the critical role workplaces can play to support positive mental health for staff, showcasing the work of winners and finalists to inspire and support other workplaces, and supporting the Mental Health Foundation as it works to improve mental health for all New Zealanders.

“The workplace isn‘t the final frontier for better mental health, it is the first frontier,” said awards convenor Grant Pritchard.

“We all have a role to play. The HeadFit Awards are here to recognise Kiwi trailblazers and share their insights with other workplaces.” 

WorkSafe is the principal sponsor of the awards.

WorkSafe chief executive Phil Parkes says mental health in the workplace is incredibly important. 

“WorkSafe is delighted to be supporting this important event which will recognise good initiatives,” he said. 

“The awards also provide an opportunity for businesses to use insights and best-practice examples from the winners and finalists to accelerate the pace of positive change in workplace mental health across Aotearoa.”

The awards comprise 16 awards categories split into three divisions. They are open to all workplaces and staff located in New Zealand, including public and private sector organisations of any type, industry or size. 

Entries close Friday 9 July 2021 with finalists announced early August, while winners will be announced during Mental Health Awareness Week 2021 on 29 September at a charity gala dinner and awards ceremony. 

The 16 awards categories are grouped into Individual, Programme and Excellence and Workplace divisions:

Individual Awards

  • Specialist of the Year

  • Employee of the Year

  • Lived Experience Leadership

  • Leader of the Year

  • Legend Award for Lifetime Achievement

Programme and Excellence Awards

  • Best Emerging Programme

  • Best Targeted Programme

  • Neurodiversity & Inclusion Leadership

  • Technology & Innovation Excellence

  • Learning & Development Excellence

  • Engagement & Communication Excellence

Workplace Awards

  • Provider of the Year

  • Small Workplace of the Year

  • Large Workplace of the Year

  • Public Sector Workplace of the Year

  • Supreme Award