The annual McDonough Contracting Gore Truck Show never disappoints, and the expectation for 2022 – the first such event in the South Island for more than 18 months – was high. Boy, we’re glad to be back!

A record 130 trucks gathered at Transport Repair’s yard from early Saturday, 4 July, for the judging of the 2022 McDonough Contracting Gore Truck Show. This year, the event – held over Queen’s Birthday Weekend – celebrated 50 years of Mack trucks assembled in New Zealand, with a good turnout of 38 of the Bulldog breed.

The truck show is usually part of the huge Gold Guitar Country Music Awards weekend, which sees the small town sprout in population. This year, the music event wasn’t held due to the uncertainty of staging it.

With the exception of the truck display at Wheels at Wanaka, there hadn’t been a truck show in the South for nearly two years. It all ensured an excellent attendance was guaranteed.

Although the roads leading to Gore were dry, they were dirty from the constant regular herd shift traffic, leaving a grime on the pavement, especially in shaded areas. Congratulations to those who cleaned and entered stock trucks at their very busiest time of year as thousands of cows migrate to winter-grazing properties.

Nick Young, with the first Mack Anthem on New Zealand roads, took out the coveted King Rig title.

During the morning and early afternoon, while the judging was taking place, the public was allowed access to the trucks and enjoyed live music. On display were commissioned wooden model trucks built by Craig Andrews. Alongside this display in the huge Transport Repairs workshop were several vendors of diecast models and other crafts.

The parade started at 2pm, with Gore’s main street lined with thousands of enthusiastic truck followers. This year, it took a slightly different route by returning to the starting point rather than just filtering off to nowhere, giving the onlookers a view from both sides as they returned.

The organising committee, headed by Rhonda Wilson, was pleased with not only the good turnout of trucks but also the high standard of preparation. Rhonda was also very complimentary of the new venue for the prizegiving function. This was held at the Croydon Lodge, with a meal afterwards and plenty of accommodation for those attending from out of town.

Before the prizegiving, a special award was made to Trevor Drake from Andrews Transport for his part in dealing with an emergency. Bruce Robertson compered the prizegiving and stressed the importance of acknowledging and supporting the sponsors. Accolades and presentations were also made to Johnny Watson, Ian McIntosh, Angus McKay, Jason Popplewell, Bruce McDonough and Bruce Robertson for their continued contributions to running the event.

Show Results

New – 40, 000km Darryl Shand Freight Haulage
40,000km – 100, 000km Shane O’Connor (Cheese) Switzer’s Valley Transport
10,000km – 400, 000km Kevin Taylor Herbert’s Transport
400, 000km – 700, 000km Colton Manson Eden Haulage
700, 000km – 1, 000, 000km Tony Thompson McNeil Distribution
More than 1, 000, 000km Graeme Maxwell Maxwell Bros
Best Isuzu Vishal Vadaporiya Phillips Transport
Best Freightliner Jake Rohan Rohan Haulage
Best Scania Darryl Shand Freight Haulage
Best Mercedes-Benz James Peters Anau Healy Transport
Best Hino Katie English Southern Transport
Best Kenworth Mark Chalmers Dynes Transport
Best Mitsubishi Renee Brown Fulton Hogan
Best Volvo Trevor Drake Andrews Transport
Best Mack Roy Agnew Southern Transport
Best MAN Josh Houghton Mainfreight
Best Nissan/UD Colton Manson Eden Haulage
Best DAF Kevin Taylor Herberts Transport
Best Iveco Lanny Evans Advance Quip
Best Other Brand Brad Butler (Western) Wynyard Transport
Best HW Richardson Group Truck Kevin Taylor – Herberts Transport
Best Female Driver Paige Sales Southern Transport
Best Logger Mark Eales Dynes Transport
Best Bulk/Tipper Paige Sales Southern Transport
Best Timber Cartage Truck Andy Cavanagh Dynes Transport
Best Curtainsider Jake Rohan Rohan Haulage
Best Bulk Sower AJ Beattie Herberts Transport
Best Stock Truck Jamie Cottie Switzers Valley Transport
Best Tractor Unit Darryl Shand Freight Haulage
Best Tanker Andrew Muir Open Country Dairy
Best Linehaul Aaron Callender Eden Haulage
Best Light Vehicle Steve Wooltorton
Best Passenger Vehicle Pauline Tanner Ritchies Coachlines
Best Crane Truck Karl Thompson Winton Cranes
Best Stock Feed Unit Ryan Shand Freight Haulage
Furthest Distance Travelled Nigel Hope (Christchurch)
Tidiest Oldest Working Truck Darryl Miller Eden Haulage
Best Refurbished Truck Todd Maxwell Maxwell Bros
Best Vintage Truck Mark Chalmers Dynes Transport
Best Fleet Eden Haulage
Best Paint Job Jamie Coote Switzers Valley Transport
People’s Choice James  Peters Te Anau Healy Transport
Best Model Truck Jamie Petterson
King Rig Nick Young (Mack Anthem) Southern Transport