Taupo Track – Super Truck racing

1 MinutesBy NZ Trucking magazineJune 15, 2016

The rencently named Bruce McLaren Motorsport Park once again came alive to the sound of the Super Trucks roaring around the circuit with clouds of black smoke filling the air; putting a smile on faces young and old. 

Race one on Saturday got off to a tight start and by turn three things got ugly with Australian Rob Waters in his Kenworth causing a collision and forcing himself, Shane Gray and Ron Salter off the track. This resulted in Ron Salter‘s truck being towed back to the pits and Rob Waters being fined $200 and having 40 seconds added to his race time by the clerk of the course. The race was eventually won by Troy Wheeler with a lap time of one minute 53.394 on lap two of the five-lap race. 

Held over seven laps, race two was a rolling reverse grid, won once more by Troy Wheeler in a time of 14 minutes 45.159, just ahead of Andrew Porter and Malcolm Little, who was given a 10-second penalty due to speeding, moving Dave West up into third position.

Race three was won by Andrew Porter, and race four by Dave West who had a great season, especially in light of the Teretonga Park accident.