Finalists for Australian 2019 National Trucking Industry Awards announced

2 MinutesBy NZ Trucking magazineMarch 18, 2019

The Australian Trucking Association has announced the finalists for the 2019 National Trucking Industry Awards.

The ATA represents the 50,000 businesses and 211,500 people in the Australian trucking industry and each year recognises industry excellence through its award programme.

“These prestigious awards recognise the businesses and individuals who go above and beyond to contribute to the industry and improve their workplace,” ATA chair Geoff Crouch said today.

“Each finalist in our award categories has demonstrated exceptional dedication to Australian trucking through their commitment and hard work,” he said.

This year the judging panel, led by former ATA Chair Trevor Martyn, received an unprecedented number of nominations across the award categories.

“The number of nominations we received shows the high standard of professionalism and passion of industry members,” Crouch said.  

The 2019 National Trucking Industry Award finalists are:

Outstanding Contribution to the Australian Trucking Industry

Leigh Smart, Formula Chemicals

Ray Taylor, Taylor‘s Removals and Storage

David Smith, D & S Smith Haulage

Chief Inspector Phillip Brooks, NSW Police Force – Traffic & Highway Patrol Command

National Professional Driver of the Year

William Dalgleish, Cleary Bros

Bernard Forssman, AFD/Directhaul

Russell Lee, AFD / Bultrans/Directhaul

National Trucking Industry Woman of the Year

Coralie Chapman, Linfox

Roslyn Anderson, Wales Truck Repairs

Janet Cooper, Livestock and Rural Transport Association of WA

National Training Excellence Award

Australian Furniture Removers Association

Wodonga Institute of TAFE


TruckSafe John Kelly Memorial Award

Hillman‘s Transport Pty Ltd, Queensland

Nolan‘s Interstate Transport, Queensland

Single Transport Services Pty Ltd, Queensland

The award winners will be announced at Trucking Australia 2019 in Perth on 5 April at the ATA Foundation Sponsors Awards Gala Dinner. 

“Trucking plays an important role in the lives of all Australians and our economy, so it‘s important we recognise those who go the extra mile and inspire others,” Crouch said.

“I invite all in the industry to join us in Perth as we celebrate the achievements of our finalists and reveal the well-deserved award winners,” he said.