IVECO takes on the toughest rally challenges in the world

5 MinutesBy NZ Trucking magazineJanuary 23, 2018

Ton Van Genugten arrives first in the last stage of the Dakar, giving IVECO its sixth win in two weeks of racing and, having overcome the difficulties encountered in some of the stages, finishes in eighth position.

IVECO has once again put its trucks to the test in the toughest rally races in the world, conquering the top of the podium in the Africa Eco Race 2018 and placing two vehicles in the Top 10 of the Dakar 2018.

In the Dakar, IVECO, who won the Dakar in 2012 and 2016 with Gerard de Rooy, had the greatest number of stage wins.

Ton Van Genugten and Artur Ardavichus from Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO both placed in the Top 10. Van Genugten clocked three stage wins – including the last special of the rally – and finished in eighth place.

Ardavichus delivered consistent performances throughout the rally, steadily rising in the rankings to finish the Dakar 2018 in fourth place. This result follows his debut in Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO at the Silk Way 2017 rally, when he also came fourth.

Artur Ardavichus, behind the wheel of his IVECO Powerstar, gradually climbed the classification to reach the end of the rally with a fourth place

Federico Villagra, having run an excellent race with two stage wins and a total of eight podium placements, was leading the rally when he was forced to abandon the race in the penultimate stage.

“IVECO‘s vehicles once again proved right their reputation for outstanding off-road performance in the two toughest rally races in the world: the Africa Eco Race 2018 and the Dakar 2018,” says Pierre Lahutte, IVECO brand president. “These results put the spotlight on the quality and reliability of IVECO‘s off-road vehicles, which consistently perform at the top on the harsh trails and extreme conditions of these rallies.”

Stage 14 – Rally Dakar 2018

1. Ton Van Genugten (IVECO)               1h39m47s

2. Martin Macik (Liaz)                                  +11s

3. Dmitry Sotnikov (Kamaz)                      +3m35s

4 Eduard Nikolaev ( Kamaz)                      +4m17s

5. Gert Huzink (Renault)                            +4m55s


7. Artur Ardavichus (IVECO)                  +6m02s

Overall Standings – Rally Dakar 2018

1. Eduard Nikolaev (Kamaz)                      54h57m37s

2. Siarhei Viazovich (Maz)                         +3h57m17s

3. Airat Mardeev (Kamaz)                           +5h22m34s

4. Artur Ardavichus (IVECO)                  +6h38m22s

5. Martin Macik (Liaz)                                  +7h58m45s


 8. Ton Van Genugten (IVECO)               +9h24m54s