Long-term membership celebrated at NRC annual general meeting

3 MinutesBy NZ Trucking magazineJuly 7, 2017

Mel and Dorothy Davies, who have been members of the National Road Carriers for 50 years, were honoured at the organisation‘s recent AGM.

The country‘s leading road freight transport organisation – now in its 81st year – also acknowledged those who have been members for 25 years.

Mel Davies started his working life in the despatch department of NZ Farmers Fertiliser, but had an ambition to own and drive a truck. In 1965, he sold some shares he had in the company, and combined with some superannuation, bought his first truck and contracted to Merv Clarke Carriers.

With wife Dorothy handling the paperwork, they acquired their own licence and started their own business, joining NRC in 1967. They began general cartage work for Newmarket based Nuon Industries soon afterwards.

They never seriously considered expanding the business and running more trucks.

“We were old school,” admitted Dorothy. “We took no risks and made sure we could pay for everything.”

Initially they ran the company from a Te Atatu base, but later shifted to the North Shore. Son John joined the business in 1988 and is still running the company. Since the early 90s they have had a long-term contract with PSP Industries in Albany.

Mel said some things never change in the industry and looking after customers is still important. But one thing that has changed is the ethics within the road freight industry.

“People didn‘t go poaching one another‘s business nearly as much back then.”

Mel and Dorothy retired in 2008, but still have a keen interest in what is happening out on the road.

“We‘ve enjoyed the whole journey,” said Dorothy.

The contribution of Paul Chappel, a former chairman of the NRC‘s board was also acknowledged at the meeting. Paul has retired after 13 years on the board, sitting on various sub committees and chairing the organisation between 2007 and 2010.

With one third of the board retiring annually under the NRC‘s rotation system, there were four positions available. The three standing down were Don Wilson, Leif Blair and Steve Doughty all of whom were nominated for