New appointments to WorkSafe board

2 MinutesBy NZ Trucking magazineJune 11, 2019

Workplace Relations and Safety Minister Iain Lees-Galloway has announced two new appointments and two re-appointments to board of WorkSafe New Zealand.

“I would like to extend a warm welcome to Bill Moran and Kristen Thompson, as well as to returning WorkSafe board members, Chris Ellis, and Paula Rose,” said Lees-Galloway.

WorkSafe New Zealand is New Zealand‘s workplace health and safety regulator focused on embedding and promoting good workplace health and safety practices.

“Both Bill Moran and Kristen Thompson bring broad experience and valuable knowledge to the board, with their varied backgrounds in workplace health and safety across New Zealand,” said Lees-Galloway.

Moran has significant experience in the public sector, particularly in business transformation leadership, and economic and financial expertise. He previously worked at the New Zealand Treasury for 30 years, and is currently the chair of Sport and Recreation New Zealand, the chair of High Performance Sport New Zealand, and the deputy chair of Otago Polytechnic. Earlier this year, he was awarded a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit.

Thompson was previously a health and safety policy analyst at the New Zealand Council of Trade Unions. She is a barrister and solicitor of the High Court of New Zealand and has represented and assisted individuals and unions with health and safety, personal injury and employment disputes.

Moran and Thompson will both sit on the board for terms of three years from 1 July 2019. Ellis returns for a one-year term, commencing 16 June 2019, and Rose returns as a member and deputy chair of the board for a two-year term, beginning 30 May 2019.