Phil Burgess wins Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year award

2 MinutesBy NZ Trucking magazineJuly 19, 2019

Phil Burgess, South Island manager of Burnard International, has been named winner of the Asia-Pacific Region FIATA Young International Freight Forwarder of the Year award.

Burgess, who is based in Christchurch, was also the 2017 winner of the Customs Brokers and Freight Forwarders Federation of New Zealand (CBAFF) Young Achiever Award. This guaranteed automatic entry to the International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations (FIATA) award.

 CBAFF president Glenn Coldham said the executive council and the team at CBAFF NZ were thrilled that Burgess had gone on to achieve this accolade.

 “CBAFF is working on a major industry initiative to raise awareness about the industry among young people and the very varied and rewarding opportunities it offers. Phil‘s career progression and recognition of that is a great example of what our sector has to offer young people looking for a rewarding and interesting career path.”

 Burgess joined a small Christchurch freight forwarder straight from school 14 years ago. His employers supported his studies for a New Zealand Diploma in business, sales management and marketing while he worked in import operations roles.

 Following a UK OE, he returned to New Zealand to take up a business development manager role with a multinational freight forwarder, becoming their top salesperson nationally, before moving to Burnard International to set up their South Island operation. Burnard has also supported and sponsored his studies for a Diploma in Management. 

 Burgess is keen to encourage other young people to explore the career potential the sector offers.

“It‘s a very exciting and rewarding industry for the right young people, with few barriers to entry,” he said.

 Burgess will travel to Cape Town, South Africa, to attend the FIATA World Congress in October, where he will be presented with a Regional Winner‘s Certificate and a personal trophy. This is where the overall international winner will be announced. The other finalists are from Russia, Zimbabwe and Canada.