Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO has four trucks in top 10 in Dakar Rally 2019

In Iveco2 MinutesBy NZ Trucking magazineJanuary 22, 2019

The 41st edition of the world‘s toughest rally race, the Dakar 2019, has come to a close with another excellent performance from Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO. Having covered 5000km on the extremely challenging sandy soil of the Peruvian deserts, Gerard De Rooy won the third place, closely followed by Federico Villagra in fourth, with Ton Van Genugten and Maurik van den Heuvel achieving 7th and 10th position in the overall classification.

The first challenge facing every team competing in a Dakar Rally is to reach the final finish line, and only a few manage to do this with all their vehicles. This year, Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO not only won a podium placement, it also succeeded in taking all four IVECO Powerstars to the finish line in the top 10. The Dakar 2019 finished with the stage linking Pisco and Lima with 112 timed kilometres, in which Ton van Genugten won his second special of this year‘s edition, making it three special wins for the team in the 10 days of the race.

The three other IVECO Powerstar trucks crossed the finish line shortly after, with team leader Gerard de Rooy finishing in the top 5 for seventh time in this edition of the Dakar. His fifth place in the last stage clinched his place on the podium as third overall.

Federico Villagra finished the most difficult rally raid in the world achieving a fourth position in the overall classification.

Maurik van den Heuvel placed the fourth IVECO Powerstar truck in the top 10 in the overall classification. The Dutchman was fourth, achieving another great result for Team PETRONAS De Rooy IVECO.



Eduard Nikolaev 




Dmitry Sotnikov




Gerard De Rooy




Federico Villagra




Ales Loprais




Ton van Genugten 




Maurik Van Den Heuvel