The forecast may have been for rain, but it didn’t put a dampener on the 2023 Tui Truck Stop Show and Shine on 26 March, with 120 trucks registered and more than 500 spectators.

Nick Rogers of the Experience Collective says the number of trucks attending this year was about 15 down on the 2021 show – the last time the event was held. Covid restrictions meant the show wasn’t held in 2022.

“We weren’t sure how many would turn up because most only registered in the week before the show.” Rogers says everyone is busy and struggling to fill jobs, and for people to take a day out of their busy schedule, especially a Sunday, was a great effort.

“We raised $1400 for the Hawke’s Bay cyclone fund. We have to say a big thank you to all our sponsors and to Trevor Jackson [Jackson Enterprises] and MyTrucking. Also, Sandy Walker [Transporting New Zealand]. He’s been there every year; he’s been a trooper and done a lot for the industry.”

In 2019, a new Star of the Show award was established in memory of Pahiatua truck driver Lincoln Johanson who died in February 2018. This year, it went to the immaculate 1977 Kenworth W924 owned by Graeme Skou of Marton. Skou also won the award in 2021.


Best DAF Shannon Bulk Haulage Darren McDermott
Best Freightliner Stephenson’s Transport 2013 Argosy
Best Hino Murdoch’s Transport Campbell Murdoch
Best International Stephenson’s Transport
Best Kenworth Hog Haulage Callum Tews
Best Mack Clive Taylor Ricki Wilson
Best Tipper Beale Trucking Paul Jonkman
Best Sterling Central House Movers Cameron Kelly
Best Scania (joint winners) Beale Trucking Paul Jonkman
Cox Heavy Haulage Greg Cox
Best Other – Cat Brownells Shane Brownell
Best Volvo Booths Sky McCausland-Horn
Best Western Star Beale Trucking Steve Beale
Local Star Kenworth K200 Jorja Bourke
Best Vintage 1974 Kenworth W924 Justin Mills
Best Classic 1977 Kenworth W924 Graeme Skou
Most Original International C1300 Brian Lowry
Best Fleet Beale Trucking
People’s Choice Beale Trucking Scania 620S Paul Jonkman
Furthest Travelled Tony Burling and Sean Hulena, both from Taupo
Star of the Show 1977 Kenworth W924 Graeme Skou
Shine On Dion Kilmister
White Swan Toot Award Beale’s Trucking