Vipal named trophy sponsor at Recircle Awards

In News2 MinutesBy NZ Trucking magazineFebruary 17, 2023

Vipal Rubber has been named as the Official Trophy Sponsor for the 2023 Recircle Awards.

The global awards recognise sustainable innovation, production processes, management and services within the tyre retreading and recycling industries.

“The whole concept of tyre retreading is about preventing tyres from being disposed of early in life and giving them multiple lives, instead of generating a premature waste,” said Leandro Rigo, international business director at Vipal Rubber.

“It also prevents the production of a whole new tyre to replace one that is still in a condition to give much of its potential,” he said.

“Whenever a tyre is retreaded, the use of natural resources allocated to produce a new unit is reduced to a third or even less according to several studies. For us at Vipal, this is a massive contribution to the world’s circular economy, and we believe that the Recircle Awards is a strong vehicle to promote and recognise such a great activity, that still has much room to expand and contribute to our planet,” Rigo said.

“Raising awareness for this activity is definitely a great step for taking good care of our home.”

The physical awards were produced by Spanish design specialists Neusus Upcycling, and feature a twisted column of black crumb rubber derived from end-of-life tyres, supported by a base manufactured from recycled copper, and are in keeping with the sustainability goals of the Recircle Awards concept.

The 2023 Recircle Awards will be officially launched on Wednesday 8 March, 2023 at Tyrexpo Asia in Singapore. The winners will be announced during Futurmotive Expo & Talks, to be held from 16-18 November, 2023 in Bologna, Italy.

Vipal Rubber is a multiple winner of the awards, having won the Best Tread Rubber Supplier, Best Retread Industry Innovation and Best Retread Equipment & Accessory Supplier Awards in 2021 as well as the Best Retreading Accessory and Consumables Supplier Award in 2022.